Skip to content ↓

National Curriculum - Years 1 and 2

Key Stage 1 of the National Curriculum is taught in years 1 and 2 (Reception children may start on aspects of the National Curriculum Key Stage 1 but this is not a legal requirement and is left to the class teacher to make judgements on individual children's readiness).

The National Curriculum consists of the following:

Core Curriculum

  • English
  • Maths
  • Science
  • ICT
  • RE

Foundation Subjects

  • Art
  • Design Technology
  • History
  • Geography
  • Music
  • Physical Education
  • Personal and Social Education

Individual policy document are available for parents to read.


We make links across the different subjects where possible to interest and engage the children in their learning.